Day One With The Hive

There are few foragers at the moment, but as the bees age they will move through the stages and become foragers. I did watch a few go to the birdbath, which I filled especially for the hive. There were several other water sources, but the birdbath is the only one they liked. I think it might have to do with the fact that it’s stone and not a muddy sticky thing they could get stuck in. If any bees fell in the water, they could easily get out. The day began to warm around 2ish and they became MUCH more active after that. I’d say about 30 of them just flew around the entrance of the hive all day. This is known as “play time” (as I mentioned before) during which the bees develop their flight muscles. The earlier stages, while serving to aid the hive, also provide training for the bees. It goes, nurse bee,(occasionally a royal attendant), honey maker, guard, and then forager.

The dogs didn’t know what to do with the hive. Buttercup went and shoved her nose right in the entrance, as did Sam. Sam eventually started trying to catch the bees in his mouth, so I called him away from it. Every time he got too close, and I called him away, Buttercup would start barking at him. She didn’t like him being near the hive at all. Kira jumped right up on the stand with the hive and started sniffing at it. The bees seem perfectly calm, although there was a noticeable increase in the number of flying bees if the dogs stayed close for too long.

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Day One With The Hive”

  1. Andrew says :

    Well, I came over. And let me tell you something. This is the craziest thing you ever did. Making ANOTHER BLOG?! Hive sounds interesting. Though, I mostly likely try to kill the bees or wasps because of what they did to me.

  2. Skydancer (Guardian Angel) says :

    Well, cool! I’m glad you got your hive. I love to see a person live out their dreams! 🙂

Leave a Reply

