This One Is The Last

Today was in the 70’s and sunny, so I opened the bees for (what is definitely going to be) the last time this year. I found the queen, she’s laying lots of new brood. There’s LOTS of honey being made, which is a very good thing. I’m not sure if feeding right now would help or hinder them. On the one hand they definitely need more honey, but on the other hand feeding them could prevent them from searching out pollen and focusing only on the sugar water. The sugar water wouldn’t convert into honey quickly enough anyway.

I found the second queen. She’s much larger than last time, about the same size as the first queen, which makes me think she’s also laying. There were about four frames of egg new eggs, not quite yet larvae. The capped brood is hatching, so I think they’re laying in shifts. Normally you should be able to find bees at all stages of development in the hive. The eggs are either freshly laid, or are capped brood. There were only a few larvae in between.

Of course, no one was home to take pictures, which is a shame because I should really have this all documented to have something to compare to next year.

4 responses to “This One Is The Last”

  1. Skydancer (Guardian Angel) says :

    That’s cool that you have two queens! I was worried about your hive but I’m glad it’s good. 🙂

    • willowbatel says :

      The only thing that worries me about having two laying queens is that I feel like the urge to swarm will be greater because of it. Next year’s going to be a big learning experience for sure. Whether I achieve me goal next year, which is that I successfully prevent a swarm, or not, I’ll learn things either way.

  2. nayyirnensi says :

    I liek your bees. How many queens do you have? I have many in my backyard, do you knwo how I can get rid of them?

    • willowbatel says :

      I have two queens at the moment, though only one per hive is normal.
      Why would you want to get rid of the honeybees in your back yard? They’re the things that are providing you with fruit and vegetables. Without bees, there would be little to no pollination.
      If you have a lot of bees in your yard you probably have a local beekeeper or feral hive near by. Neither are bad things.

Leave a Reply

