This Is REALLY The Last

I thought the bees would be wintering up by now, but they’ve been plugging away all week without any signs of stopping. Since it was in the 70s, I figured I’d open them up. I got my neighbor J to come over and take pictures. She thought she had a bee in her hair several times, and ended up having to take pictures from a different spot because so many bees were after her. I was all suited up per usual, and laughed while she ran toward the house shrieking several times. Lol, I suppose I deserved it then when I was stung. Somehow a bee managed to get into my suit and sting me on the inner part of my upper arm. I felt it crawling around, attempted to squish it several times, as well as just move things around because I wasn’t quite sure there was really a bee in my suit. How could one’ve gotten all the way to the upper part of my arm? It would’ve had to crawl from the middle of my upper arm, down to my hand (having managed to squeeze through the elastic band at the end of my gloves) , and then back up to my upper arm, again managing to squeeze through the elastic band.

Finally I couldn’t take it anymore and had to remove whatever was tickling my arm. As I was pealing off my suit, I felt a very slight prick. Almost as if I’d been pricked with some needle left in the fabric of the suit. I went to the spot that I felt the prick, and pulled out a stinger. J found the dead bee in one of the folds of the suit. The sting stopped hurting after five minutes, and it didn’t really hurt to begin with. I’ve got a slight red mark on my arm, but other than that I’m fine. Anyway, now for the pictures.

The bees have been busy. This picture shows almost an entire frame of nectar and pollen. There’s lots of nectar throughout the hive, but little to no capped honey. Capped honey is best because it won’t ferment, where as nectar will. I’m thinking of feeding them because there’s a LOT of empty space around the hive that really needs to be filled in. The more they gather and prepare now, the less I have to feed them in the winter.

This frame is almost completely drawn out, but there are only a few small pockets of nectar on here… I think I’ll feed them tomorrow.

This is the largest patch of capped honey in the hive at the moment. Clearly there’s a lot more room available.

Here’s the new queen. I’m glad to know that there’s another hive in the area, and that my bees will (clearly) be able to requeen if need be. I couldn’t find the original queen, so I’m not sure if she was killed or what. It’s likely I just didn’t see her. I almost didn’t find this one. I think this is one of the best pictures of a queen that I have. Especially since you can see the larvae in the cells she’s standing on.

And she’s definitely laying well. There was one other frame like this one, and another that was entirely new eggs. Every cell on the frame had an egg in it. unfortunately that pictures’ not so good, so you get to see all the capped brood instead.

That’s all I’ve got for now. Well, that and a bee sting.

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “This Is REALLY The Last”

  1. skydancer050 says :

    Is it possible that bees don’t sting as bad as wasps such as yellow-jackets? (they’re wasps, right?) I got stung by something that, well, I didn’t know if it was a bee or a wasp, in the neck and it hardly hurt at all.

    • willowbatel says :

      Bees have a much milder sting than yellow-jackets or wasps. You might also have been bitten by a horse fly. I was bit by one and it drew blood. It didn’t hurt much, but it certainly wasn’t comfortable.
      I don’t know how honeybees and yellow jackets and wasps are related exactly. They’re definitely all cousins, but idk who’s closer to whom. Apparently ants are descendants of wasps though. Thank you random documentary.

  2. nayyirnensi says :

    I dont really know what to say.

  3. skydancer050 says :

    Well, I saw it drop off of my neck dead and it looked like what I would consider a yellowjacket but at the time I didn’t know there was a difference. It was definitely a bee or yellowjacket though.

    • willowbatel says :

      It was a honeybee then. The stereotypical honeybees are a more golden color (like honey) where as wasps and yellow jackets are ugly yellow colors. Google the pictures of each to compare. Once you see them side by side it’s easy to distinguish them.

Leave a Reply

