Slightly Warmer But Still Cold, Feeding

It was warmer today so I fed the bees another 4 cups of sugar water. This time it was closer to a 3:1 ratio (sugar: water) than last times 2:1. The bees have definitely started building up their population. They were not happy to have me back in the hive so soon. Since it was a little warmer I decided to do a bit of looking around. I didn’t look through everything, but as far as I can tell, it looks like there were down to less than half a frame of honey stores.  They have about half a frame (by half a frame I mean one full side of a frame) of freshly laid eggs though! I didn’t see the queen, but the eggs are a clear indication that she’s alive. Yay! I’m so close to being an official beekeeper. You’re technically not a beekeeper until the bees make it through an entire winter. I’m so close! And with about 4 frames of new food in their hive, the bee population should be exploding shortly. I have a few pictures but I can’t get to them right now. I’ll post them tomorrow.

Edit: Pictures

Here are those pictures I promised.

They were clearly not happy about having their home tipped open. Look at how many there are though! My mom was trying to talk to me and I was like, I don’t know what you’re saying. You couldn’t hear anything they were so loud. It was awesome. They were all over me too. And it kind of freaked me out a little bit because randomly it’d feel like someone was poking me with their finger because the bees were head butting me. The good news is that in about two weeks (according to last year’s pictures) the cherry blossoms should be in bloom. Which means food for the bees and that I can add the second box on. I’m so excited for that!

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

