Yet Another Feeding

It was sunny out so I decided to feed the bees AGAIN. I want to pack as much sugar water as I can in so I won’t have to worry about them again if it gets colder. I scraped off the frames that had dead capped brood on them. It was disgusting. They oozed grey blech stuff and squished horribly. I scraped off two frames and then went and rinsed off the ooze. I had to sacrifice some of the pollen stores, but in the end it’ll be worth it. A mite did pop out of one of the combs as I was scrapping it off, so even though a ton of brood died it was for the better.

The bees now have, well, about 7 frames worth of sugar water. I found eggs today which I was really exited about. I did see one bee with a mite on it though, which was annoying. I tried to kill it but it disappeared into the masses. There were plenty of bees coming and going with pollen, even on the frames I was holding at the time. I love bees. What other creature continues working like that?

The bees have started drawing out some new comb on the frames that weren’t completely drawn out, so I’m glad about that. They also have two or three queen cells starting up, and I think I’m just going to leave them. It’s very likely that the current queen was damaged in the cold snap and I don’t want to interfere with the bees if they feel she’s not fit to rule anymore. I wish I had some pictures but I don’t. I might take some pictures of the wax that I removed if it’s nice enough tomorrow.

I’m going to leave them alone for a while now though. They’ve got enough sugar water to last them a good long time and I switched the boxes so the brood nest box is on top again. So the heat should be kept better. All I can do now is wait and hope for warmer weather!

Tags: ,

One response to “Yet Another Feeding”

  1. Skydancer (Guardian Angel) says :

    Awww! I’m sooo glad the bees are back! 🙂

Leave a Reply

