Doing Good And Getting Attacked

I opened the bees up on Friday. Yeah, this is super late I know. Anyway. I was extremely happy to find that they had about half a frame of pollen (all of it was white) and approx. two frames of nectar-honey. They have been out all but two days when it was raining a while ago. They’re coming out in weather that was too cold for the old bees.

They’ve got so many eggs and larvae, I don’t know how they’re going to cope. A few of the larvae were capped which is exciting. The sooner they get new bees into the work force, the better. I couldn’t find the queen though. She is much faster than the old one however, and with so many eggs in the hive it really doesn’t matter if I find her or not.

They’ve started making drone cells. All of the comb on the outer edge of the hive that was newly drawn out was drawn out wonky (it didn’t match to the foundation) and was larger than the other cells. I’m just going to leave them. They are important to have in a healthy hive, and it means that my bees won’t be completely removed from the gene pool.

Im excited for them to fill in the first box. It will be so exciting to FINALLY get that second box filled. I just hope there’s enough stuff for them in the neighborhood. I feel like there isn’t that much for them and my yard certainly won’t be enough.

Anyway, they’re doing good, they have food, they have eggs, they’re drawing out wax without any problems.
They’re also attacking my dog and I. My littlest dog, Kira, who is allergic to bees, was running through grass away from the hive and one managed to jump up onto her leg. She got stung and immediately started limping around and coughing and got really hot. Naturally my mom was in a meeting and wouldn’t pick up her phone, and had hidden the bee sting medication (literally, she had put it in the least used of all the kitchen cabinets, behind a jar of junk where no one would ever think to look), so I couldn’t do anything for Kira. Two hours later my mom called and asked if we’d found it. We hadn’t. She told me where it was and, after giving some to Kira, things seemed much better for her.

After I had opened the hive, and after Kira was stung, I had taken off my mask and gloves but not my suit because I was busy talking to my neighbor. A bee flew straight at my face, so I hit it away, which made it mad, so it continued to fly at me. I freaked out and was swatting at it with both hands like a complete spaz. I literally had to run inside to get away. And it flew around outside, waiting for me, looking at my hat and gloves. I waited a bit and finally took a step outside and it immediately flew into my hair. I pretty much went berserk and swatted at my hair like crazy, and once the bee was out I was across the yard and up the hill in less than 2 seconds. After waiting a bit to make sure the bee hadn’t followed I slowly snuck back inside. My sister and neighbors laughed at me the whole time.

Yep. I’m insane. I’m a beekeeper who’s afraid of bees. 😀

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

