A Hatching

Do you remember all those eggs the queen laid back on the 22nd of May? They were hatching on Friday. I opened up the hive and was surprised to find all these oddly pale colored bees crawling about the hive. One frame had a couple bees poking their heads out of their combs so I stood and watched for a minute while they struggled to get out, which was something I’d never seen before. It was slightly anti-climatic, I’ll admit. The bee had chewed through most of the wax already, so I just watched her pop her head out once or twice and then pull herself fully out of the comb and start walking around. She looked a lot paler and her hair’s were lighter colored, as were a bunch of the other bees around her. It’s about time they started hatching though. I feel like the population has gone down quite a bit since I got them. There are always bees coming and going, but there’s not a back up at the door like there usually is. No matter. With the fresh batch of bees hatching, the hive will fill up in no time. I can’t wait to put the second box on. I reaaaaaally want to see them fill it finally. There are a few frames that still need drawing out however, so I’ll wait until they’ve packed themselves into their current box before putting a new one in.

They did draw out a funky bit of comb on one of the empty frames. They’d tried to build the wax up away from the foundation so that it would have two sides to use instead of one. I cut it off and smooshed it down and stuck it to the frame so they could chew it up and reuse it, but redraw it in the proper way.

Anyway, that’s all the excitement for now. Oh! Except some of the pollen that the bees had collected was black. They have a bunch of comb’s filled with black pollen. The only thing I know of that makes black pollen would be tulips, but those have all stopped blooming. Any ideas?

Tags: ,

2 responses to “A Hatching”

  1. Emily Heath says :

    Poppies produce a very dark purply/black pollen, do you have any poppies about?

    • willowbatel says :

      Oh! That would explain it then. I have an orange poppy, my neighbors have a red one, and there are a bunch of similar poppies in the area. I didn’t even think about them. We also have a pink poppy that blooms later in the summer, but it’s pollen is yellow, which is partly why I disregarded the poppy that’s currently blooming. At least I think it has yellow pollen…

Leave a Reply

