A Quick Summary

I’ve opened the bees twice since I posted last. They’re REALLY low on honey. Last week I put the supper box on and put a tin can of sugar water in the middle of it so I knew they would have something to eat. The weather has been perfect and there’s bees coming and going constantly all day, but for some reason they’re just low on honey. They’re all over the yard though. Particularly the bell flowers near the gate, as well as the white flowered, waxy leafed shrub across the pathway from them. The hive had plenty of pollen last I looked. I think they’re going to requeen though because they keep making queen cells right in the middle of the frames. I found the queen and she looked alright, and there are eggs all over the place. There were 4 full frames of capped brood, and a few more with mixed stages of bees.

The two queen cups they built when I was last in the hive were right in the middle of capped brood so I couldn’t really squish them. They looked like they’d been made while the brood was still young because some of the combs had been sort of contorted to make room for the queen cup. I figured, if they’re getting that desperate to make a queen, I’d let them. And I feel like the lack of resources would prevent them from swarming.

Other than the lack of honey though, the hive is healthy and active. I saw a few drone cells too, and I’m excited to see what they look like. I only got to see one drone, and that was while I was helping B about a year ago when he was putting a package in one of the hives. I feel like, if I’m not allowed to let my hive swarm, I might as well let them have a few drones so they aren’t completely out of the gene pool. The more diversity, the better.

That’s all I’ve got for now. It’s supposed to sprinkle on and off for the next few days, but it’s been in the high 60’s and mid 70’s since last Thursday, so I’m not too worried about the bees. And with the Fireweed just starting to bloom, the extra rain should help give things an extra bit of nectar.

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

