A Naming And What’s In Bloom

My mom and I have been talking for the last few days about what to name the current queen. Since I’ll be splitting the hive, it’s only right we name the queens so talking about them with family and complete strangers will be easier and make us sound much less like bizarre freaks.

We’ve decided to name the current queen Agatha Trunchbull. I was inspired to name her this because of Ms. Trunchbull from the movie Matilda. Ms. Trunchbull is a menace to the school she’s principal of (Trunchen hall, if I remember correctly), so I figured it would be a fitting name for my queen, whose daughters (and sons) are a menace to the yard.

I’m not sure what to name the future queen, and I’m sure it’ll take me a year of getting to know her before I do, lol.

Anyway, I just wanted to let you all know the queen that will be heading the new hive (Trunchen Hive) is now named Agatha Trunchbull. No word yet on when the hive will arrive, but it’ll definitely be here before the week is over! Not that it matters. We’ve had a horrible, strong, freezing wind from the north coming in for the last few days, and a fair amount of rain.

The turnips are about done blooming, as are the hyacinth, but the bluebells are starting to pop up, so that’s good. The apple tree opened up late last week, but with this weather there’s not much of a flow going on. The iris have buds on them, as do the raspberries, and I saw a strawberry open yesterday. The chives have some buds on them too, and the potatoes leaves are coming up. Oh and the lilac opened up the other day as well.

Also, here’s a picture of the bees drinking from an old dog dish my dogs don’t like.

Tags: ,

2 responses to “A Naming And What’s In Bloom”

  1. Emily Heath says :

    Love the name!

    • willowbatel says :

      Thanks! lol. My mom wants to paint the name “bee-witched” and “bee-wildered” on the sides of the hives, just to be clever. I’m tempted to let her paint “bee-witched” on the langstroth, just because it would be rather fun. Except to say, it would only read correctly ever other year because of having to switch the boxes for swarm prevention in spring…

Leave a Reply

