Drone Dispatching

It seems my observation of the huge drone population has not gone to waste. There was an obnoxious buzzing noise coming from the middle of the lawn while i was doing my thrice daily rounds about the yard, so I went over to investigate. I found a drone with the ends of his wings chewed off trying to fly out of the grass. I picked him up to take a few pictures, and show him to my dogs who didn’t know what to do with him. Kira hates the bees with a passion, but because he wasn’t buzzing her, and because I was holding him, she didn’t know what to do. For the most part she just cowered under my hand like she expected me to sting her with him. Sam, big oaf that he is, started wagging his tail and bit him playfully. He loves chasing bumblebees if they let him. Buttercup was uninterested, as she is with everything (even treats) and just brought her ball over for me to throw.

Anyway, here are the pictures!

Image

Image

Image

After playing with the drone for a bit, I went back over to the spot I found him and quickly located 2 other drones. So the girls are cleaning house of unwelcome guests it seems! I suppose this means there’s about to be a dearth (?). White Hive has several pounds of capped honey, but a greatly diminished population from the weeks without a queen and the swarm, on top of being split before that. Trunchen Hive has lots of drones from White Hive, and is raising their own, but little to no honey stores, as all of the available space is dedicated to brood. There were drones in the swarm too. So I suppose this means that I’ll need to keep an eye on the drone population next year, cause this year there are clearly too many. 

Oh! And while I was searching for other drones, I found an ant carrying away a drones head. I suppose its good the ants are cleaning things up, so I don’t have to…?

8 responses to “Drone Dispatching”

  1. Emily Heath says :

    Poor old drones! Good to know that at least the ants find them useful. Are you feeding Trunchen Hive?

    • willowbatel says :

      Nope.The girls have completely drawn out the top box and have probably 7 frames of capped brood. I wasn’t planning on feeding my swarm either, but my aunt decided she wanted to so she put sugar water out for them. We’re still in the undecided phase of whether these bees will stay mine or become hers. She doesn’t have a suit yet, so for now they’re mine, and she wasn’t sounding interested in properly taking over the management of the hive, but I think now that she’s got them she’s realizing she does want them… I don’t know. I’ll try and keep everyone up to date on what’s going on with that hive as well. Who knows.

  2. Emma Sarah Tennant says :

    Ants carrying away drone heads – sinister! Although good how nature has a use for everything! That’s good to hear that your aunt has caught the beekeeping bug too 🙂

    • willowbatel says :

      Yeah, and fortunately for her, her son is quite the handy man. He’s building her a complete hive (so I can get two boxes back as well) and they only spent $50 for wood. My hive cost over $235 plus $25 for overnight shipping. Sooo, I’ll be ‘buying’ hives from my aunt from now on, lol.

Leave a Reply

