Aunts Hive

I went over to my aunts to put the roof and baseboard my cousin made on the hive. Those pieces are honestly as good a quality as the hive I paid $260. And it only cost them $50 in wood. That said, they used pine instead of cedar, which does change things. But still! That’s a cheap hive!

Anyway, the girls were all clustered in the top box. I didn’t remove any frames, but it didn’t look like they had drawn any wax out. The weather hasn’t been as good as it could be these last few days, and its supposed to be rainy for the rest of the week. Both of my hives have been fairly active, despite the weather, and my aunt’s hive has been pretty active too they say. Clover is popping up everywhere, so there’s going to be a big nectar flow underway any day now. If it was only a few degrees warmer. I’ll try and get pictures of the hive next time I’m over there, just for documentary purposes.

I got there too late in the day, and it was too cold, to do an inspection. So I’ll wait another week and see how they’re doing. They may have to be fed simply because of this weather.

Tags: , ,

10 responses to “Aunts Hive”

  1. Emily Heath says :

    Clover makes delicious honey 🙂

    • willowbatel says :

      It does! I’m really worried about the bees today though, because it’s supposed to continue raining for the next week. Trunchen Hive has 0 stores, so the girls are out flying, despite the fact that not even the birds are out today. I think I’m going to have to build some feeders, because the swarm definitely doesn’t have any food either. Its supposed to be nice in June, not this terrible weather!

      • Emily Heath says :

        Tell me about it, it’s been raining here all day. We call this ‘summer’. If you don’t have a feeder, an upturned jam jar with a few holes punched in the lid will do, put it on top of the crown board hole and use a empty super around it so you can put the roof on.

        • willowbatel says :

          I think we’re still technically in spring here.
          The langstroth has already started capping honey; the Warre hives are the ones that need feeding. I’ve been looking at different methods today and I think I’ll just be cheap and use a ziploc bag sitting over the top bars. I’d have to put it in the lower box though, because there isn’t space in between the quilt and the brood box. I suppose I’ll have to just switch the boxes. But then there’s all that space for the girls to keep warm… *sigh* I’m not sure what I’m going to do just yet.

          • Emily Heath says :

            Ah yes a ziploc bag sounds like a good idea.

            • willowbatel says :

              hahaha, beekeepers have got to be some of the lowest rent/most beneficial people in the world. If we don’t have to spend money, we won’t, but we provide one of the greatest services to the world.

              • Emily Heath says :

                We’re heroes really 🙂

              • willowbatel says :

                It’s true! Do we need to add capes to our suits? Maybe just a medal to show our service to the planet would suffice. I feel like someone should actually make that commercial/slogan for beekeeping. People in proper business suits, but have them as pull-aways, so that they can rip them open like superman. Underneath will be a beekeepers suit, and then the caption can read “saving the world one bee hive at a time”. Or something like that.

  2. Emily Heath says :

    Beekeeper/super hero suits! Awesome idea.

Leave a Reply

