Golden Girl

I just wanted to write a quick post to say that I saw some interestingly colored bees at my aunts today. I was walking past of clover, watching carefully for bees, when I spotted a dark bee with lots of grey hair. It was definitely a honeybee, but it wasn’t like any of the other girls in either of my hives. I assumed it was one of the new bees that my aunts queen created.
Sometime later I walked over to look at the hive and see how it was doing. Oh! I might even have a picture for you!

Its not that interesting, I’ll admit, but there you go! We had to put those boards down to keep the grass from blocking out the entrance. It’s about 2 feet tall because there’s a rose just out of the picture that can’t be mowed around.

Anyway, I had just turned to leave when a little golden girl dropped from the sky right in front of me. I squatted down to look at her and was amazed to see her with a fully golden body!

Due to the angle and lighting, she appears to be a little darker than she was, but I promise, she was a solid gold bee. I should’ve captured her and made her into a lovely pin or broach or something.

Anyway, I just wanted to show you all that. She may be the only bee of that color in the hive, but I’m glad I got to see her!

Tags:

5 responses to “Golden Girl”

  1. Emily Heath says :

    She’s beautiful! She looks like the Italian bees bred in New Zealand which some beekeepers here have.

    • willowbatel says :

      The Italian bees we have here are a little darker than her, and they never have golden legs like she did. That was the other thing I forgot to mention; she had a layer of gold fur around her, making her look twice as bright. This photo really doesn’t do her justice at all.

  2. Talking With Bees says :

    Hello.
    I really need to start taking some photos of honeybees. I will let you know when I have some decent ones.

    • willowbatel says :

      Ok! I copied your list of books and went to the half-priced bookstore yesterday. Unfortunately they didn’t have any of them, but they had a couple of beekeeping books I’d never seen before so I got them. They were only 3 or $4 each, so it wasn’t a big deal. I’m looking forward to reading them, and I’ll let you know if they’re any good!

  3. Talking With Bees says :

    Great, look forward to hearing from you.

Leave a Reply

