Rain!

Finally the rains have come. This has been an almost record breaking year for heat and dryness here in Washington, and with this overly extended good weather (certainly the driest year I’ve ever seen) I’ve been concerned for the bees. They have yet to spend a day confined to the hive, and their level of activity is worrisome. There was an ’emergence’ from White Hive yesterday, and the bees were busy enough that they could be heard from the house again, which hasn’t happened for several weeks now. And while I was out listening to them I noticed several bumble bees out. I don’t think I’ve ever seen bumble bees out so late in the year.

There is also nothing in bloom right now. I have no idea where my bees are going everyday. The only thing in bloom in my yard is a pink dahlia, and only bumble bees have ever visited that. Our ever-bearing raspberries have fruited again, and they didn’t do that last year.

I know the bees have ample honey, so I’m not too worried about them going through that, but they didn’t have as much pollen as I would’ve liked, last time I opened the hive. I don’t know of anything that blooms this late in the year. Maybe I’ll check my flora/fauna book tomorrow.

Anyway! I was so excited about the rain I had to run out and stand in it when I first heard it. And then promptly run back inside to write a post!

Tags:

6 responses to “Rain!”

  1. Emily Heath says :

    Ivy is a very popular late flower over here which produces lots of pollen as well as nectar, do you guys have ivy around?

    • willowbatel says :

      Oh huh, I didn’t even think about ivy. I’m sure someone has ivy around here. I consider it to be a bit of a weed, and have pulled seedlings from the yard several times, so it’s definitely around.

  2. Emma Sarah Tennant says :

    Read an interesting article recently that explains why bees and wasps are so busy in autumn. Before I was a beekeeper I never noticed bees and wasps still around in October, but it seems that autumn is an important time for these insects to dine at the ‘last chance saloon’ before bedding down for winter…

    http://phys.org/news/2012-10-bees-wasps-busy-autumn.html

    • willowbatel says :

      The bees weren’t anywhere near so active this time last year I don’t think. Wasps also weren’t as much of a concern, mostly because the bug population was half its current size. There are usually a dozen or so wasps constantly buzzing about just under the entrance of Trunchen Hive. They collect any and all bees thrown out the front door. Between the ants and the wasps, I really don’t have much in the way of a dead-bee population. 160,000 girls during the summer, you’d think you’d see a corpse or two.
      Thanks for the interesting article!

  3. Garden Walk Garden Talk says :

    We finally are getting the seasonal rain. We still have bees too, which is surprising since around us has been having deep frost.

    • willowbatel says :

      We haven’t seen any frost yet, that I know of. My raspberries are still producing even. Its been unseasonably warm and dry here. I don’t like it, lol. I’m a Washingtonian through and through. Got to have my rain, lol.

Leave a Reply

