Bees Out And About

I meant to post this weeks ago when I first took the pictures, but obviously that didn’t work out. The bees have een out more and more with the increase in sunny days. Its a balmy 48 degrees out right now, and the crocus have all opened up. We have a couple of rhodi’s in bloom, and the camellias at the top of the hill are in bloom as well. a Pea that escaped being collected last year has sprouted up weeks early, and dozens of carrots from last years crop have sprouted. We even have carrots in the lawn. Dandelions are blooming everywhere, and the honey suckle and clematis are about to burst. Bumblebees of all colors and sizes have been seen flying about on the sunniest of days, and birds are finally starting to return. Oh and there’s lots of heather blooming around the neighborhood. I’m supposed to be feeding the bees, according to the president of my bee association, but I think that with three boxes of stores to work with, and lots of flowers in the area, my girls should be fine.

Here are some pictures!

Image

 

Image

Theres a little bee collecting pollen!

Image

That’s all I have for now. I’m looking forward to finally being able to move things around later in the spring. I’m going to have to ask my cousin to start modifying the boxes pretty soon though. I really should get on that…

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Bees Out And About”

  1. Lori says :

    The bees have been crazy for the flowering rosemary at our home here in North Central Texas. I would love to start some boxes, but we are novices at best. Love reading and learning all I can, great blog!

    Lori

    • willowbatel says :

      Anyone can do it! Get a few books and you’ll be an expert in no time. It’s a wonderful experience that brings you close to nature like nothing else.

  2. Talking With Bees says :

    You’re getting me all excited about the UK Spring which is nearly upon us. I like your comment that “I’m supposed to be feeding the bees, according to the president of my bee association”. I’m about to do an
    Oxalic Acid Treatment which others have said should be done in Dec/Jan but we’ve just finished a cold snap and I’m going to try it now.

    • willowbatel says :

      I don’t think its technically spring here yet. Daylight savings time switches next weekend (so we loose an hour of sleep) which makes me inclined to believe spring is still weeks away. We could still get snow until the end of the month, but its been such a mild winter I doubt that’ll be the case. As far as I’m concerned, its spring once the crocus are out (and they popped up last week).
      Yeah, I’ve been told that I should be doing all kinds of things, but I feel like the bees should be left to their own devices as much as possible. I will buy plants I know they’ll like, but other than that I try not to do anything for them.

  3. Emily Heath says :

    Love your crocuses! Ours were too bedraggled and wet today for the bees to collect from them. Three boxes of stores is impressive.

    • willowbatel says :

      Its the Warre’ hive though, so I wouldn’t be surprised if these three boxes was equivalent to two deep Langstroth. I was technically only supposed to over winter them in two boxes, per Warre’s book, but they didn’t fill out all of the boxes completely before winter, and I’d much rather they had too many stores than too few. And it will definitely allow them to build up quicker with all their extra space.

Leave a Reply

